Variable Capital Companies 10 FAQs

1) VCC的主要特点是什么?

VCC的结构非常灵活,适合各种投资产品。它既可以设立为一个独立体,也可以设立为一个拥有大量子基金的伞型实体。为了保护投资者,每个子基金的负债资产都相互分离。对于重视隐私和自主权的投资者来说,VCC股东名册也不会向公众开放。VCC重要特点之一就是,其在无需得到股东批准的情况下允许从股本中赎回股份和支付股息,使投资者更易于进入和退出其投资。

2) 伞型VCC和独立式VCC的区别是什么?

从根本上说,伞型式VCC可许多有独立的子基金。VCC在这一结构中将是一个单一的法律实体,其子基金将作为单独的单元进行运作(没有独立的法律人格)。

通过在新加坡会计与企业管理局(ACRA)登记设立子基金,ACRA将为子基金提供一个唯一子基金识别号。为防止各单元间相互影响,子基金的资产不能用来清偿VCC或VCC任何其他子基金的债务或申索。代表VCC的任何子基金或可归因于该子基金而产生的任何债务必须只能用该子基金的资产中清偿。这极大地降低了投资者不同子基金中的风险。

3) 为什么有必要引入这一新框架?与新加坡现有的基金结构相比,其优势是什么?

VCC是为了完善新加坡现有的基金结构所设立。之前常用的基金结构包括有限合伙、单位信托和私人有限公司。而新的VCC框架取消了许多关于资本回报率、公开股东名册以及仅从利润中支付股息的限制。这就为希望在新加坡设立基金的投资者提供了更大的操作灵活性和更多的结构选择。

4) 现有的外资是否也是VCC的目标?

是的。VCC另一个重要方面就是,其可以很容易地让与新加坡结构类似的外资在新加坡境内重新注册。该基金必须在其目前所在地注销登记,并在新加坡ACRA登记。因此,这种重新注册将适用于在开曼群岛设立的独立投资组合公司或受英属维尔京群岛保护的单元公司等实体。新加坡并未在这些离岸司法管辖区进行基金管理,而是选择提供一种在岸的另类投资,让基金经理可以建立经济实体并提供长期服务。

5) 新加坡金融管理局(MAS)在设计VCC框架时,主要考虑了哪些问题?他们为什么要这样做?

VCC的目标是促进新加坡成为全球领先的基金管理中心。MAS已经对世界各地主要基金注册项目进行了研究并选择了最佳特性,还根据投资者和本地基金经理的需求和关注点对这些特性进行了调整。且在设计新的VCC时,还重点考虑了运营和结构灵活性、成本效益、投资者保护等关键特性,从而打造出一流的产品。

6) 对基金经理/投资者在运营和合规要求方面有哪些好处?

VCC准许基金经理在新加坡单一框架下的单独司法管辖区内对其所有基金进行整合和管理。得益于其透明化监管和相对安全的经济环境,VCC将能够为投资者提供更多的保护和安心。对当地专业服务提供商的法定使用将进一步简化报告和合规要求。

7) 哪些类型的产品最适合VCC框架?

VCC将适用于多种产品。这是有意让基金经理有更大的回旋余地。VCC同时考虑到了开放式基金和封闭式基金以及传统投资或另类投资。事实上VCC可以持有的资产策略和资产类型并无任何限制。我们可以看到对冲基金、私募股权基金、房地产基金、风险投资基金等,它们都是在此框架下计划的。

8) VCC的推出对该地区未来的投资前景和机遇而言意味着什么?

VCC框架的推出无疑推动新加坡成为亚洲最大的基金管理中心之一。VCC是在新加坡现有的强大基金管理生态系统的基础上所建立,它还为挖掘该地区增长机遇提供了更加健全的框架。自VCC于今年1月底推出以来,我们已经看到了相当多的公司表现出极大兴趣,甚至有亚洲以外的公司希望迁址到新加坡。

9) VCC是否有任何法规/法定的合规要求?

由MAS授权或注册的基金管理公司(万方家族办公室)

  • 至少有一名常驻新加坡的董事;至少有一名董事(可与上述人士相同)是VCC基金管理公司的董事或合格代表;以及
  • 一名新加坡常驻公司秘书。
  • 受反洗钱/打击资助恐怖主义(“AML/CFT”)程序的约束,将由MAS进行合规监管。
  • 此外,还必须接受新加坡审计机构的审计,该审计机构必须在年度大会(AGM)后和财政年度结束后七(7)个月内提交年度报告。
  • 伞型VCC还必须为每个子基金保留单独的会计和其他记录,以充分解释每个子基金的交易和财务状况。

10) VCC的税收影响是什么?

VCC将作为单一实体的普通新加坡公司进行缴税,因此,VCC将与70多个国际司法管辖区签订税收协议和双重税收协议(DTA)。此外,根据13R和13X计划分别为新加坡居民基金计划和增强型基金计划提供的税收优惠也将适用于VCC框架。

更多详情请访问: https://www.rafflesgroup.co/understandgip13x13r/

Like This Article?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Variable Capital Companies 10 FAQs

1) What are the key features of the VCC?

The VCC has a very flexible structure suitable for a wide range of investment products. It can either be setup as a standalone entity or an umbrella entity with a number of sub-funds under it. To protect investors, the assets of liabilities of each sub-fund are segregated from one another. For investors who value privacy and autonomy, the VCC register of shareholders will also not be made available to the public. One of the important features is that the VCC allows for redemption of shares and payment of dividends from its share capital without the need for shareholders’ approval, giving investors easier entry and exit from their investments.

2) What is the difference between an umbrella VCC and a standalone VCC?

An umbrella VCC essentially has segregated sub-funds under it. In this structure, the VCC will be a single legal entity, with its sub-funds operating as separate cells (without separate legal personalities).

A sub-fund will be constituted by registration with ACRA, which will provide the sub-fund with a unique sub-fund identification number. To prevent cross-cell contagion the assets of a sub-fund cannot be used to discharge the liabilities of or claims against the VCC or any other sub-fund of the VCC; and any liability incurred on behalf of or attributable to any sub-fund of a VCC must be discharged solely out of the assets of that sub-fund. This greatly mitigates investors’ risks from the different sub-funds.

3) Why was there a need to introduce this new framework and what are its advantages over existing fund structures in Singapore?

The VCC was launched to complement the existing fund structures in Singapore. Previous fund structures that were more commonly used include limited partnerships, unit trusts and private limited companies. Many of the restrictions onreturn of capital, publicly available register of shareholders, payment of dividends only from profits have all been removed in the new VCC framework. This allows for greater operational flexibility and additional structuring options for investors looking to domicile funds in Singapore.

4) Does the VCC also target existing foreign funds?

Yes. Another important aspect of the VCC is that it allows an inward re-domiciliation of foreign funds with a similar structure to Singapore quite easily. The fund would have to deregister at their current domicile location and register with ACRA in Singapore. Therefore, this redomiciliation would be suitable for entities such as the Cayman segregated portfolio companies or the British Virgin Islands protected cell companies. Instead of pursuing fund management in these offshore jurisdictions, Singapore is offering an onshore alternative where fund managers can build economic substance and provide longevity.

5) What were some of the main considerations of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) when they designed the VCC framework and why did they want to do so?

The objective of the VCC is to promote Singapore to become a leading global fund management hub. The MAS has studied and selected the best features from major fund domiciliation programs around the world and adapted these according to the needs and concerns of investors and local fund managers. Key features such as operational and structural flexibility, cost-efficiency, investor protection were also focused upon when designing the new VCC, resulting in a best-in-class product.

6) What are some of the benefits in terms of operations and compliance requirements to fund managers/investors?

The VCC allows fund managers to consolidate and manage all its funds in a single respected jurisdiction here in Singapore under a single framework. Being well known for its transparent regulations and relatively safe economic climate, the VCC will be able to provide investors with more protection and a peace of mind. The mandatory use of local professional service providers will further streamline reporting and compliance requirements.

7) Which types of products are most suitable for the VCC framework?

A wide range of products will be suitable for the VCC. This is by design, to allow fund managers greater room to manoeuvre. It allows for both open and closed ends funds, traditional or alternative investments. There are actually no limitations on the strategies and types of assets that a VCC can hold. We have seen Hedge Funds, Private Equity Funds, Real Estate Funds, Venture Capital Funds all being proposed in this framework.

8) What does the launch of the VCC mean for the investment landscape and opportunities in the region moving forward?

The launch of the VCC framework definitely propels Singapore to becoming one of Asia’s top fund management hubs. It builds on the strong existing fund management ecosystem in Singapore and provides an even more robust framework to tap onto the region’s growth opportunities. We have already seen a significant amount of interest since its launch in late January, even with enquiries from outside of Asia looking to redomicile to Singapore.

9) Are there any regulatory/statutory compliance requirements for the VCC?

A fund management company that is licensed or registered by MAS (Raffles Family Office)

  • Has at least one director who is resident in Singapore; at least one director (who may be the same person as above) who is either a director or a qualified representative of the VCC’s fund manager; and
  • a Singapore resident company secretary.
  • Subject to Anti-Money Laundering/Countering the Financing of Terrorism (“AML/CFT”) procedures, which would be supervised by MAS for compliance.
  • Also subject to audit by a Singapore based auditor by which an annual return must be filed after its AGM and within seven (7) months after the end of its financial year.
  • Umbrella VCC must also keep separate accounting and other records for each sub-fund that sufficiently explain the transactions and financial position of each sub-fund.

10) What are the tax implications of the VCC?

A VCC will be taxed as a single entity regular Singapore company and would therefore give it access to tax treaties and Double Tax Agreements (DTAs) with 70+ jurisdictions internationally. In addition, tax incentives available for the Singapore Resident Fund (SRF) and the Enhanced-tier Fund (ETF) under the 13R and 13X schemes respectively will also be applied to the VCC framework.

More details can be found here: https://www.rafflesgroup.co/
understandgip13x13r/

Like This Article?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin